Go Ahead and Pray – It’s a Copout!

My heart has been heavy the past few weeks because of the confusion that is currently happening at the George E. Peters Seventh-day Adventist School.  I don’t know what it is about Adventist education, but we have a hard time getting it right.  And I am tired of us being the “tail” and not the “head”.

I struggled when deciding to send Jalen to GEP.  I decided to mostly because we are an “Adventist education” family.  My siblings and I matriculated from Adventist schools from elementary to tertiary.  Same for my husband’s siblings.  There were problems (some very serious) at each level.  Everyone knew this, but the prevailing sentiment was, “Don’t worry; God will take care of it.”

THIS.  IS.  A. COP-OUT.

This attitude prevents us from taking necessary action to improve our schools. It allows us to give our children a substandard education and cheerily say, “But look how God has blessed,” about the children who survive the madness and somehow succeed despite it.  I had dinner with a girlfriend who summed this up nicely (I’m paraphrasing):

People say to me, “Look how far you’ve gotten in life.”  And I think to myself, yes, but imagine how much farther I could have gotten if my Adventist education had been more rigorous.

Anyway – I know you Adventists will all respond to this by saying “Oh girl just pray about it.”  So go ahead and pray.  But know that if that is ALL you do, you’re copping out.

Leave a comment